Queen Hatshepsut Temple,The red and black walls of this ancient place of worship gave it its name; the temple was built by Hatshepsut and Thutmosis II in 1479 BC, and was intended to hold the Braque of the God Amun; after the death of the Hatshepsut it was destroyed by her nephew Thutmose III. Luckily a group of archeologists found the ruins and reconstructed the shrine. The construction materials are black granite and red quartzite, and the beautiful engravings in the stone are filled with gold paint giving the shrine a magical feel. Right near the temple of Karnak – in the open-air museum area on the left of the main temple of Amun in Karnak – this is a building worth seeing.
Egyptdeaftravel.com is powered by Palma Tours Egypt a tour operator based in Cairo - Category (A)
Established May, 1991 under license #865